Review: Smokey Robinson’s Seafood Gumbo/Red Beans And Rice

No, that’s not some kinda weird non-sequitur:  I was in the supermarket the other day, trying to find something in the frozen food aisle that would go with the Lo Mein I was having for dinner (I’ve been on an Asian food kick recently, mainly because there’s apparently no such thing as an Ojibwe restaurant, and even if there is, it isn’t here in Detroit), when I happed across a freezer full of Smokey Robinson Brand food products.  As soon as I laid eyes on them, I knew I would be writing about them here.  When I went to the website, I discovered that the two I bought, the seafood gumbo and the red beans and rice, are the first two offerings, even though there’s a chicken gumbo pictured on the packaging.

Anyhow:  The seafood gumbo was pretty good, although IMHO it could use more shrimp, and less okra, but that’s only because I hate okra.  It was good.  I’ve had better, but my family IS from Louisiana, and y’know, I can imagine that crayfish and mussels are probably not cost-effective ingredients for a newly-formed frozen food company in Glendale, CA.

The red beans and rice, on the other hand, was GREAT.  Let me tell you: over the past 40 years, I have put away my fair share (and then some) of red beans and rice, and I don’t recall EVER liking it this much.  Maybe the very first time I had it, made by my thrice-sainted gran-maman (may the angelic choirs ever sing her praises), but definitely not as much since then.  Until now.  I gotta say, Smokey, I LOVE your red beans and rice.  I’m probably gonna be eating it for the rest of the month, unless I can stop myself from eating it so much I stop liking it.  This is the stuff.

2 Responses to “Review: Smokey Robinson’s Seafood Gumbo/Red Beans And Rice”

  1. john switzer Says:

    You’ve tempted me to search it out. I’m from Louisiana also so know how hard it is to find the ‘right stuff’!

  2. …I never knew your family was from Louisiane. Dammit, this explains a whole lot about you.

Leave a Reply

