Not Tonight Dear, I’m Hearing The Voices Again

I saw a story on CNN today about twin sisters, one of whom is a psychiatrist, the other of whom is a schizophrenic. They wrote a book about their lives, which sounds like it might be a good read.

The schizophrenic sister talked about how she HAD to obey when the voices told her to set herself on fire, and I recalled a night onstage when I experienced a sudden and irresistable urge to play in the key of E. We wound up playing a fun version of ‘I Wanna Be Your Dog’ so it was alright, but I’ve thought about that night a couple of times since then.

I guess, as a musician, what I hear all the time is music, rather than voices. The music that’s not by other artists is the stuff I try to get on tape, obviously. It occurred to me that it might be the same as the voices schizophrenics hear, only channeled differently.

Besides, it’s been years since I heard the voices that kept telling me to set my sister’s bed on fire again.

Okay, no it hasn’t.

Leave a Reply

